Nakuru too good for Mwamba as Oilers punish Machine

Nakuru registered the second straight win in 2019 after beating Mwamba RFC 29-15 in a Kenya Cup held at Nakuru Athletic Club.

Wanyore got the first try of the game after forcing their way to the tryline from a rolling scrum. Eighth-man Charles Odongo touched down for a 5-0 lead before Duncan Abuyeka added the extras.

Kulabu responded with a try at the other end, with their try coming from their eighthman Tony Owour. Their conversion attempt however went wide. Abuyeka return to the scoresheet this time round with a try that saw them take a 12-5 lead to the break.

The first serious action of the second half saw, Kenyan International Collins Injera cross over for Mwamba’s second try but once again their conversion from Elvis Namusasi flew off the target.

Mitch Ocholla coached side added penalty and a converted try from Walter Okoth. Oscar Ouma landed their fourth try of the day taking their scores to 29-10.

Mwamba bagged the third try of the match but it was too late for them to come back in the match.

Nakuru’s neigbours Menengai Oilers livened their chances of staying in the top tier after whipping Mean Machine 36-15 at the University of Nairobi Grounds.

Nakuru Squad: 1. John Mbugua 2. Emmanuel Mboya 3. Ezekiel Waitere 4. Phillip Owuor 5. Edwins Makori 6. Cassius Omollo 7. Monate Akuei 8. Charles Odongo 9. Donald Aluoch 10. Dancan Abuyeka 11. Walter Okoth 12. Oscar Ouma 13. Tyson Asiago 14. Hannington Wabwire 15. Crispin Onyango

Replacements 16. Newton Okeyo 17. Dan Githanga 18. Teddy Agutu 19. Edwin Anunda 20. Kennedy Mwangi 21. Geoffrey Ominde 22. Brian Mayaka 23. Gramwel Bunyasi

Mwamba squad: 1. Eugene Sudi 2. Salaton Muturi 3. Deus Mudaki 4. Stephen Wang’ondu 5. Stephen Sikuta 6. George Omolla 7. Collins Injera 8. Tony Owuor (C) 9. Martin Oyugi 10. Brian Mwangi 11. Felix Otieno 12. Horace Otieno 13. Billy Odhiambo 14. Joel Inzuga 15. Elvis Namusasi

Replacements 16. Brian Kahura 17. Thomas Soteri 18. Alfred Yuko 19. Christopher Asira 20. Gideon Mbithi 21. Eugene Nzioka 22. Norman Nandabi** 23. Eliakim Kichoi

Most Popular

To Top