Kabras outwit Kenya Harlequins to stay unbeaten

Kabras RFC winning run continued as they beat Kenya Harlequins 21-3 in Kenya Cup match played at RFUEA Grounds on Saturday 9 February. 

With eight wins out the last eight games, Kabras came to this oozing with confidence as they had a superior head to head record against Quins,  having beaten them in five of the last eight Kenya Cup meetings.

For Kenya Harlequins, they were buoyed by the recent form that had seen them beat Nondies, Nakuru, Mean Machine and Impala in the last four games. They were also banking on former Kabras head coach Charles Cardovillis to guide them through. It was, however, Kabras who went home with a win.

The home side took an early lead after Quins fullback Lyle Asiligwa slipt the post at the third minute with a penalty. Mario Wilson would make a try-saving tackle at the 15th minute to stop Iddi Kakai from dotting the opening try of the game.

Kabras struggled to settle, being let down by poor line-out throws and handling skills in the opening 22 minutes. The first serious forward play saw them march into Quins 22 and Philip Wokorach sold a dummy before making an easy run to the try box to score. The Ugandan converted his own try for a 7-0 lead.

Another poor defending saw Kabras winger Kevin Keegan feed George Nyambua after a beautiful play by Brian Tanga and the flanker bagged a converted try that saw them move to 14 points.

Kabras started the second half brightly but could not get past Quins in the opening 20 minutes of their second half. On the hand, their resolute defence ensured that Kenya Harlequins did not breach their line.

In the final quarter, Wokorach returned to the score sheet with his second and Kabras third try of the day after being put through by Geoffrey Shitambasi.  He converted the try for 21 points. The side went to deny Kenya Harlequins a chance to score but failed to collect a bonus point for the first time this season.

Quins 1. Brian Obwaya 2. Frank Kalwale 3. Paul Kioko 4. Hilary Baraza 5. Tony Mutai 6. Patrice Agunda  7. Herman Humwa 8. Peter Misango – C 9. Dominic Osino 10. Eden Agero 11. Willy Ambaka 12. Frank Wanyama 13. David Ambunya – VC 14. Iddi Kakai 15. Lyle Asiligwa

Replacements: 16. Edward Oseko 17. Elisha Koronya 18. Melvin Thairu 19. Roxy Dan Suchi 20. George Scott. 21. Aaron Ofoywroth, 22. Jaspher Ochen, 23. Aluda Beda

Kabras 1. Asuman Mugerwa, 2. Max Adaka (Captain) 3. Hosea Ngesa, 4. Brian Juma, 5. Hillary Odhiambo. 6. George Nyambua, 7. Dan Sikuta, 8. Claude Johannes, 9. Brian Tanga (Vice-Captain), 10. Logan Basson, 11. Paul Abuto, 12. Nick Baraza, 13. Mario Wilson, 14. Kevin Keegan 15. Philip Wokorach

Reserves: 16.Joseph Odero, 17.Ephraim Odour, 18. Geoff Shitambasi, 19. Charlton Mokua, 20. Barry Robinson, 21. Kevin Kaboole, 22. Jacob Okumba, 23. Fabian Olando

Most Popular

To Top