New Zealand beat USA to win Sydney 7s

New Zealand are the Sydney 7s champions after beating USA 21-7 in a final match played at Spotless Stadium on Sunday.

NZ scored the opening try through Regan Ware after Vilimoni Koroi’s offload at the second minute. Koroi added the extras.

USA struggled to break New Zealand defence and they would concede a penalty which saw the Blackshirts strike to score through Sam Dickson after USA duo Folau Niua and Danny Barrett collided. Koroi once again splits the posts for a 14-0

In the final half, Tone Ng Shiu bagged the third converted try for New Zealand before Brett Thompson scored USA’s consolation try. New Zeland held on to win the match.


Fiji finished fourth after losing to England 19-17 in the Bronze. Tom Bowen bagged a brace while Will Muir added the third try that was converted for a 19-0 lead.

Fiji staged a late comeback scoring via Apenisa Cakaubalavu’s hattrick but they fell short by two points.

Fifth place 

South Africa grabbed the fifth spot after edging Australia 12-10 in a closely contested clash. Selvyn Davids opened the scores for the South African at the second minute. Five minutes later, John Porch responded with a try that tied the scores at 5-5.

Nicholas Malouf put the hosts ahead with another unconverted try while Kyle Brown bagged a converted try for a South Africa’s win.


New Zealand 21-7 USA


Fiji 17-19 England

Fifth place

Australia 10-12 South Africa

Challenge Trophy

Japan 7-10 Argentina

13th place off

Tonga 5-25  Samoa

Main Cup semis

Fiji 14 – 36 New Zealand

England 7 – 14 USA

5TH Place semis

Australia 17 – 14 France

South Africa 33 – 0 Spain

Challenge Trophy

Japan 19 – 17 Wales

Argentina 24 – 19 Canada

13th Place Semis

Tonga 20 – 17 Kenya

Samoa 26 – 12 Scotland

Cup Quarters

Fiji 22 – 17 Australia

New Zealand 28 – 5 France

South Africa 5 – 26 England

USA 38-10 Spain

Challenge Trophy Quarters

Japan 31 – 19 Tonga 7s

Wales 7s 19 – 14 Kenya 7s

Argentina 7s 36 – 12 Samoa 7s

Canada 35 – 21 Scotland

Most Popular

To Top