Ireland name squad ahead of Six Nation clash against England

Six Nations holders Ireland have revealed their squad that will feature in the 2019 edition opener against England set for Aviva Stadium on Saturday 2 February.

Rory Best will captain the side at the front row where he is set to play alongside Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong.  

Devin Toner and James Ryan are the locks while Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander will be in the back row.

Conor Murray who missed the November Tests due to injury is back and will partner with World Player of the year Jonathan Sexton at halfback. Midfield duties have been handed to Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose.

Robbie Henshaw has been named at fullback for the first time since his debut against USA in on the Summer Tour in 2013. Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale are named on the wings.

Sean O’Brien is named in the forward replacements alongside Sean Cronin, David Kilcoyne, Andrew Porter and Quinn Roux. John Cooney, Joey Carbery and Jordan Larmour complete the lineup.

Ireland squad: 15. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster), 14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster), 13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) , 12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht), 11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster), 10. Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)  9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) , 1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), 2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 112 (c), 3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster), 4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) , 5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster), 6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster), 7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 
Replacements 16. Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), 17. David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster), 18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster), 19. Quinn Roux (Connacht),  20. Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster),  21. John Cooney (Ulster), 22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster)  23. Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

Most Popular

To Top