On-song Kabras crack Mwamba

Kenya Cup league Leaders Kabras RFC excellent run in Kenya Cup continued as they beat Mwamba RFC with a scoreline 46-15 in a match staged at Kakamega Showground on Saturday.

Heading to this clash, Mwamba were on a four-match winning streak having beaten Nondies, Oilers, Strathmore and Impala Saracens. Buoyed by the win Kulabu went to Kakamega hoping to be the first team to stop Kabras this season.

Kabras under South African boss Henly Du Plessis were seeking the eighth straight win of the season which would see the tactician beat a seven-match winning streak set by Charles Cardovillis who was in charge of the side last season.

The Sugarmen who have had impressive starts in the opening seven matches kicked off brightly and registered the opening try through open winger Paul Abuto. Ugandan fullback Philip Wokorach made it seven after a successful conversion.

Vice-captain Brian Tanga extended the lead with a five-pointer but Wokorach failed to hit the target from the tee. Lock Hillary Odhiambo joined the scorer’s list by touching down a try that saw them go 17 points up.

The Sugarmen crossed the 20 point-mark after Wokorach breached Mwamba’s defence to give Kabras fourth try. Former Kenyan International Fabian Olando converted the try pushing Kabras 24 points up.

Charlton Mokua registered the fifth try but Olando failed to convert. The hosts would head to break leading 29-0. The Kakamega based side picked from where they left as they resumed action for the second half. They were able to open the scores through South African Logan Basson while Tanga bagged his second try of the day after a donkey work from Wokorach. Wokorach extras saw the Sugarmen cross the 40 point mark for the seventh time this season.

Kabras would allow their guests to get two consolation tries. At the other end Mario Wilson added his name to the scoresheet with a try. Mwamba added the third try but it was too late for them.

In the Eric Shirley Shield, Kabras II also extend their fine run beating Mwamba II 33-8. Johnstone Mungau’s and Washington Ombima’s penalty saw Kabras lead 8-5 at the break. In the final half, Kevin Kaboole, Teddy Omondi, and Eugene Sifuna managed to try each to help Kabras win.

Kabras 1. Ephraim Odour, 2. Max Adaka (Captain) 3. Asuman Mugerwa, 4. Brian Juma, 5. Hillary Odhiambo. 6. George Nyambua, 7. Charlton Mokua, 8. Claude Johannes, 9. Brian Tanga (Vice-Captain), 10. Logan Basson, 11. Fabian Olando, 12. Nick Baraza, 13. Mario Wilson, 14. Paul Abuto 15. Philip Wokorach

Reserves: 16. Geoffrey Shitambasi, 17. Bramwell Mayaka, 18. Steve Ochieng, 19. Steve Olouch, 20. Barry Robinson, 21. Malika Habil, 22. Jacob Okumba, 23. Kevin Keagan

Mwamba: Deus Mudaki, 2. Salaton Muturi, 3. Brian Otieno, 4. Stephen Sikuta, 5. Edwin Machanje, 6. Louis Kisia, 7. Collins Injera , 8. Tony Owuor (c) , 9. Martin Oyugi, 10. Elvis Namusasi, 11. Joel Inzuga, 12. Felix Otieno, 13. Mike Agevi , 14.Billy Odhiambo, 15. Tony Omondi

Replacements 16. Kevin Kerore, 17. Tom Soteri, 18. Jonah Mbari, 19. Christopher Asira, 20. George Omolla, 21. Gideon Mbithi, 22. Eugene Nzioka, 23. Idriss Shariff.

Most Popular

To Top