Impala suffer fourth straight Kenya cup loss at the hands Quins

Kenya Harlequins made an easy job of Impala to beat them 37-24 in the much anticipated Ngong road derby.

Kenya Harlequins looked to stamp their authority from the first whistle and they struck three minutes into the contest with Iddi Kakai scoring in the corner after Ambunya had done the donkey work. Asiligwa would then add the extras for a 7-0 lead. Minutes later Asiligwa would add a three-pointer to make matters 10-0.

Things would have got even worse for the Sarries in the 10th minute when Quins thought they had scored only for the ref to rule out the try citing unclear grounding.

The Charles Cardovillis coached side would continue asking hard questions of the Impala defence and it was not long before it caved in to allow Herman Humwa to score under the uprights in the 22nd minute, Asiligwa adding the extra two for a 17-0 lead.

David Ambunya would keep the score board running for Quins with a try two minutes past the half hour mark after Eden Agero produced a moment of brilliance to create holes and gaps in the Impala defence, Asiligwa getting the conversion right to make it 24-0. Asiligwa would add another three pointer shortly before half time to extend Quins lead to 27-0 as the teams headed into the breather.

Impala would score a minute into the second half after Samson Onsomu broke away from a ruck, fended of several defenders before his offloading to Erick Kerre to score. Ongo missed the conversion for 27-5 scoreline.

Bad ball handling from the Sarries would see Iddi Kakai pounce on a loose ball to race away for his second try of the evening. Asiligwa again showing good kicking skills to make it 34-5.

Impala would reply through Edmund Anya minutes later with Ongo missing the extras to bring matters to 34-10.

Asiligwa would then continue his fine booting form with another three pointer to take the scores to 37-10.

With 10 minutes remaining Quins were reduced to 13 men with fowards Melvin Thairu and Roxy Suchi being sent to the sin bin. Repeated infringements in the scrum by Quins resulted to a penalty try for a resurgent Impala side making matters 34-17. Immence pressure would see Davis Makori cross over the white chalk late in the derby, Ongo quickly adding the twos to make the scores 34-24 in what had turned out to be a dramatic second half. That would be the final score of the evening.

Impala Saracens
1. Edgar Obino 2. Daniel Ndome 3. Kevin Ronnoh 4. Kevin Okeyo 5. Eric Kerre 6. Eric Kopondo 7. Elkeans Musonye 8. Paul Mutsami 9. Samson Onsomu (c) 10. Samuel Oliech 11. Quinto Ongo 12. Ishmael Mokaya 13. Anthony Nyandigisi 14. Vincent Mose 15. Richard Sidindi

16. Collins Chogo 17. Onsongo Nyamwaya 18. Davis Makori 19. Edwin Gatungo 20. Xavier Bett 21. Edmond Anya 22. Bradley Ochieng 23. Steve Juma

Kenya Harlequins 1. Brian Obwaya, 2. Frank Kalwale, 3. Paul Kioko, 4. Hilary Baraza, 5. Tony Mutai, 6. Patrice Agunda, 7. Herman Humwa, 8. Peter Misango – C, 9. Dominic Osino, 10. Eden Agero, 11. Iddi Kakai, 12. Alex Olaba, 13. David Ambunya – VC, 14. William Ambaka, 15. Lyle Asiligwa

Replacements 16. Edward Oseko, 17. Elisha Koronya, 18. Melvin Thairu, 19. Roxy Dan Suchi, 20. George Scott , 21. Aaron Ofoywroth, 22. Jaspher Ochen, 23. Matt Wanjia

Most Popular

To Top