14 man Mwamba overcome Impala in a hotly contested duel

Mwamba managed to overcome Impala 20-16 in a hotly contested match played at Railways club.

Mwamba looked fired right from the start and were it not for the keen eyes of the touch judge, Mwamba would have gone ahead through a Mike Agevi try which was ruled out for a knock on.

It would not be long before Steven Sikuta would slice his way through the Impala defence in the 11 minute to draw the first blood in the game. Tony Omondi failed to add the extras to leave matters at 5-0. Impala would reply minutes later through a Quinto Ongo penalty to make matters 5-3. Mwamba were looking Sharp and kept asking tough questions of the Impala defence.

Impala would take the lead through an Ongo penalty but the lead would not last long as Mwamba would score through Brian Otieno for a 10-6 lead.

The gazzeles were determined and shortly afterwards Prop Kevin Rono would shove his way over the line after a series of phases to give Impala a 11-10 lead after Ongo failed to add the extras.

Mwamba would score through Collins Injera for a 15-11 lead heading into the blocks.

Kulabu came out of the blocks fired up and it took them under three minutes to put points on the board with Louis Kisia touching down from the back of a maul to make matters 20-11.

Impala replied quickly through Erick Kerre, Ongo missing the conversion to make matters 20-16 just 10 minutes into the second half.

Substitute Horace Otieno would be sent to the sinners’ chair for a high tackle on an Impala player only to be followed by Sammy Oliech minutes later.

Impala would then camp Mwamba’s 22 and the pressure would lead to a Horace Otieno red card and a yellow card to Brian Otieno leaving Mwamba with only 13 men on the field.

Pressure was coming left right and centre for Mwamba with Impala camping in their 5 for the last minutes leading to another yellow card to Mwamba’s Joel Inzuga.

Mwamba would then hold on for a 29-16 win in a dramatic match.

Mwamba: 1. Deus Mudaki 2.Eugene Sudi 3.Brian Otieno 4.Stephen Wangondu 5.Stephen Sikuta 6.Louis Kisia 7.Collins Injera 8.Tony Owuor (c) 9.Eugene Nzioka 10.Tony Omondi 11.Joel Inzuga 12.Brad Owako 13.Mike Agevi 14.Billy Odhiambo 15. Ronnie omondi

Replacements: 16. Salaton Muturi 17.Thomas Soteri 18.James Yuko 19.Christopher Asira 20.Edwin Machanje 21. Elvis Namusasi 22.Patrick Ruhiu (c) 23.Felix Otieno

Impala: 1. Steve Juma 2. Daniel Ndome 3. Kelvin Rono 4. Edwin Gatungo 5. Erick Kerre 6. Erick Kopondo 7. Elkeans Musonye 8. Steve Shammah 9. Samson Onsomu 10. Samuel Oliech 11. Bradley Ochieng 12. Ishmael Mokaya 13. Anthony Nyandigisi 14. Quinto Ongo 15. Richard Sidindi

Replacements: 16.Collins Chogo 17.Edgar Obino 18.Kevin Okeyo 19. Elvis Oroko 20. Xavier Kipng’etich 21. Mutsami Paul 22. Edmund Anya 23. Onsongo Nyamweya

Most Popular

To Top