New faces in as Kenya 7s squad for Hamilton, Sydney is named

Kenya 7s head coach Paul Murunga has named his squad that will take part in the third and fourth leg of the World 7s Series set for Saturday 26-27 at Hamilton and Saturday 2-3 at Sydney.

Murunga has handed Jacob Ojee the captaincy role and he will be assisted by Michael Wanjala. The two are making a return to the squad after a long term absence as well as Bush Mwale.

Kenya’s 2018/19 leading points scorer Johnstone Olindi, Daniel Taabu, Vincent Onyala, Brian Wahinya have been picked once again while Mark Wandeto, Eliakim Kichoi,William Reeve, Brian Wandera and Harold Anduvate will make their debuts.

Hamilton, a  two-day event set for FMG Stadium will see Kenya 7s who are in Pool B square it out with South Africa, Scotland and France. Pool A,  has Cape Town Champions Fiji, Australia, Argentina and Wales who finished 14th at Cape Town 7s.

World 7s Series leaders USA will have a date with England, Samoa, and Tonga while New Zealand have been placed in Pool D alongside Spain, Canada, and Japan.

The teams will then head to Sydney 7s  on 2nd and 3rd February.

Pool A: Fiji, Australia, Argentina, Wales.
Pool B: USA, England, Samoa, Tonga
Pool C: South Africa, Scotland, France, Kenya
Pool D: New Zealand, Spain, Canada, Japan.

Full squad: Jacob Ojee – Captain, Michael Wanjala – Vice Captain Daniel Taabu. Johnstone Olindi, Harold Anduvate, Vincent Onyala, Cyprian Kuto, Brian Wahinya, Brian Wandera, William Reeve, Eliakim Kichoi, Bush Mwale, Mark Wandetto

Most Popular

To Top