Kabras brush aside Oilers to stay unbeaten

Kabras RFC started off the year on a good note, beating Menengai Oilers 41-5 in a Kenya Cup match staged at Kakamega Showground on  Saturday evening.

Having ended the year 2018 on a high, the Kakamega based side were eager to carry the fine form to 2019. Henly Du Plessis charges started off impressive dotting twice in the opening 20 minutes.

It was South African import Logan Basson who scored Kabras opening try. Ugandan International Philip Wokorach sent wide his conversion attempt.

Mayaka forcing his try to the tryline. Photo Courtesy/Dan Besty

Wokorach also missed the chance to add the extras to Kabras scores after another South African import Claude Johannes went over for a try.

Their compatriot Mario Wilson also got his name on the scoresheet with the third try that took Kabras to 15 points. Once again Wokorach failed to hit the target from the tee.

Minutes before the break, lock Brian Tonya crossed over and Wokorach converted to send Kabras to a 22-0 lead at the breather.

Kabras RFC at halftime break. Photo Courtesy/Dan Besty

Oilers return from the break and registered a try through winger Bildad Ogeta. Wilson bagged his second try which was their first in the second half for a 27-5 scoreline.

Substitute Kevin Keegan also joined the scorers of the day, dotting the sixth try that was converted by fullback Wokorach.

Former Kenyan International Bram Mayaka sealed their victory with a converted try that saw them cross the 40- point once again this season.

Kabras  RFC:1.Asuman Mugerwa, 2. Max Adaka, 3. Joseph Odero, 4. Brian Tonya, 5. Hillary Odhiambo, 6. Dan Sikuta, 7. George Nyambua, 8.Claude Johannes, 9. Brian Tanga, 10. Logan Basson 11. Paul Abuto, 12. Nick Baraza, 13. Mario Wilson, 14. Felix Ayange, 15. Philip Wokorach,

Reserves 16.Goeff Shitambasi, 17. Ephraim Oduor,18. Bram Mayaka,19. Charlton Mokua,20 Barry Robinson 21.Fabian Olando,22. Kevin Keagan, 23Habil Malik

 Oilers  1. Francis Atiti 2. Hughes Anjera 3. Rashid Shimoka 4. Chrispine Shitindo 5. Clinton Odhiambo 6. Nickson Ochieng 7. Ian Mwau* 8. Aziz Annan 9. Andrew Odero 10. Moses Arara – c 11. Bildad Ogeta 12. Emman Okwako 13. Eric Ombasa 14. Derrick Mbaire 15. Derrick Keyoga

Replacements 16. Hillary Malweyi* 17. Vincent Mwikali 18. Kevin Juma 19. Brian Ndirangu 20. Rodgers Audi 21. Amos Onyikwa 22. Theophilus Lusangalu 23. Antony kibet.

Most Popular

To Top