Mwamba outsmart Oilers as Nakuru beat Machine

A brace of tries from Mike Agevi and Tony Owuor was enough for Stanbic Mwamba to defeat Menengai Oilers 27-15 in a match staged at Railways Club,Nairobi.
Mike Agevi scored Mwamba’s first try with Tony Omondi missing the conversion.Minutes later,a lapse in concentration from Oilers defence in their own red zone saw vice captain Tony Owuor score Mwamba’s second out of a brilliant line out move.Tony Omondi amended his mistake this time round splitting the uprights for a 12-0 lead.
Tony Omondi kept the scoreboard ticking as he booted a penalty for a 15-0 lead.Mwamba were then reduced to 14 men when Tony Owuor was sent to the bin for a dangerous tackle.Oilers capitalised on it putting pressure on the hosts forcing them to infringe close to their try line.Aziz Anan then touched down just before halftime off a powerful Oilers scrum.Keyoga Derrick missed the conversion.
From half time,Oilers picked up from where they left when Derrick Keyoga landed Oilers second try and converting it reducing the deficit to only three points.He then added another three points to level the scores at 15-15 through a successful penalty kick.Mwamba were forced to respond immediately courtesy of Mike Agevi with an assist from Collins Injera getting his brace when he raced to score under the posts to put his side ahead again 20-15.
Tony Owuor from sin bin added Mwamba’s fourth and a bonus point in the dying minutes of the game with substitute Daniel Taabu converting it for a 27-15 win.
At the Nakuru Athletic Club Nakuru RFC beat Mean Machine 29-15 to join the side that won on the final day of 2018.
Mwamba : 1. Deus Mudaki 2. Tom Soteri 3. Yuko James 4. Gideon Mbithi 5. George Omolla 6. Kisia Louis 7. Injera Collins 8. Tony Owuor (vc) 9. Martin Oyugi 10. Tony Omondi 11. Greg Odhiambo 12. Brad Nashon (c) 13. Mike Agevi 14. Eliakim Kichoi 15. Ronnie Omondi
16. Kimulu Dennis 17. Yuko Alfred 18.Wycliffe Muema 19. Steve Wangondu 20. Steve Sikuta 21. Eugene Nzioka 22. Felix Otieno 23. Daniel Taabu
Oilers: 1. Rashid shimoka 2. Hughes Anjera 3. Francis Atiti 4. Emmanuel Odera 5. Clinton odhiambo 6. Nickson Ochieng 7. Harold Ojango 8. Aziz Annan 9. Amos Onyikwa 10. Theophilus Lusangalu 11. Bildad Ogeta 12. Emman Okwako 13. Antony Kibet 14. Derrick Mbaire 15. Derrick keyoga
16. Kelvin Mokoyani 17. Vincent Mwikali 18. Vincent Oduor 19. Chrispine shitindo 20. Rodgers Audi 21. Andrew Odero 22. Moses Arara 23. Eric Ombasa.

Most Popular

To Top