Nondies overpower Oilers to pick third Kenya Cup win

Nondescripts continued their perfect start to the Kenya cup campaign with a 28-8 win over newcomers oilers at the Impala club.
The Rangers looked to start the match on a high and nearly registered points but knocked the ball on just metres away from the try bix. Oilers then had a chance to pick points of their own but a Derrick Kegoya sailed wide.
Both teams’ test of each other’s defence systems proved not to bear any fruit with Steve Odhiambo missing two chances to put his team ahead from scrums in their opponents’ five.
Nondies drew the first blood with 12 minutes of the first half left with a Martin Juma’s penalty.
With five minutes on the timer, Derrick Kioga slotted in a penalty to bring matters level. The lead lasted only a minute before Nondies went ahead again through Juma’s penalty.
Oilers were delt a blow when Francis Atiti was sent to the sinners’ chair but they were able to hold the Nondies onslaught that followed heading into the blocks trailing the game 3-6.
Oilers got the first try of the match when Derrick Mbaire pounced on a loose ball to dot down in the corner. The conversion hit the upright Oilers leading 8-6.
Steve Odhiambo then went over the white chalk with Martin Juma converting to hand Nondies a 13-8 lead with ten minutes of the second half played.
Skipper Fidel Oloo then extended his team’s lead from a rolling mail to take the scores to 18-6 after they missed the resulting conversion.
Martin Juma would slot in another penalty with twenty minutes left to  play.
Nondies’ dominance was rewarded with a try three minutes to stoppage time which was converted to take their lead to 28-8. Those proved to be the last points to be added on the board signalling Nondies third straight win in their Kenya cup campaign.
Nondies squad 1. Ernest Ngong 2. Frank Mutuku 3. Ian Njenga 4. Brian Njenga 5. Brian Sinei 6. Erick Okoma 7. Fidel Oloo 8. steven Odhiambo 9. Ian Mabwa 10. Martin Juma 11. Brian Oyando 12. Benjamin Marshall 13. Erick Gitau 14. Brian Safari 15. Ivan Chebo
Replacements: 16. Brian Itolondo 17. Erick Shimoli 18. Raphael Kathurima 19. Steven Ortice 20. Brian Amaitsa 21. Saidi Sumba 22. Francis Ochiel 23. William Otieno
Oilers: 1. Rashid Shimoka 2. Vincent Oduor 3. Francis Atiti 4. Emmanuel Odera 5. Clinton Odhiambo 6. Nickson Ochieng 7. Harold Anduvate – C 8. Rodgers Audi 9. Emmanuel Odera 10. Amos Onyinkwa 11. Bildad Ogeta 12. Emman Okwako 13. Antony Kibet 14. Derrick Mbaire 15. Derrick Keyoga
Replacements: 16. Vincent mokoyani 17. Vincent Mwikali 18. Kevin Juma 19. Chrispine shitundo 20. Aziz Annan 21. Theophilus lusangalu 22. Victor Matiko 23. Blastas Juma.

Most Popular

To Top