England, Australia name squad ahead of face-off

England co-captain Dylan Hartley is among changes to the side ahead of the clash against Wallabies set for Saturday in Twickenham.
Hartley will start on the bench against Australia with Jamie George wearing the hooker’s jersey joined by props Ben Moon and Kyle Sinckler in the starting line-up. Courtney Lawes shifts to the second row alongside Maro Itoje. Sam Underhill will start at openside flanker with Mark Wilson moving to no 8 and Brad Shields returning to blindside flanker.
Co-captain Owen Farrell is named at fly-half with Ben Te’o and Henry Slade as the centre pairing while Joe Cokanasiga will play on the right wing with Jonny May in his opposite side. Manu Tuilagi is named as a finisher from a long test absence as he last played for England in 2016 and is also joined by Nathan Hughes following the conclusion of his suspension.
Wallabies star David Pocock has been named to play against England despite an injury question mark that had been hanging over his head
after suffering a neck injury in the Wallabies’ 26-7 win over Italy last weekend.
Wallabies coach Michael Chieka has brought veteran tighthead Sekope Kepu, hooker Tolu Latu and Wingers Jack Maddocks and Dane Haylett-Petty into the starting lineup with halfback Nick Phillips and utility back Sefa Naivalu return to the reserves.
England starting XV: 15. Elliot Daly 14. Joe Cokanasiga 13. Henry Slade 12. Ben Te’o 11. Jonny May 10. Owen Farrell co-captain 9. Ben Youngs 1. Ben Moon 2. Jamie George 3. Kyle Sinckler 4. Maro Itoje 5. Courtney Lawes 6. Brad Shields 7. Sam Underhill 8. Mark Wilson
Replacements: 16. Dylan Hartley co-captain 17. Alec Hepburn 18. Harry Williams 19. Charlie Ewels 20. Nathan Hughes 21. Richard Wigglesworth 22. George Ford 23. Manu Tuilagi.
Wallabies starting XV: 1. Scott Sio 2. Tolu Latu 3. Sekope Kepu 4. Izack Rodda 5. Adam Coleman 6. Jack Dempsey 7. Michael Hooper (c) 8. David Pocock 9. Will Genia 10. Matt To’omua 11. Jack Maddocks 12. Bernard Foley 13. Samu Kerevi 14. Dane Haylett-Petty 15. Israel Folau
Replacements: 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau 17. Jermaine Ainsley 18. Allan Alaalatoa 19. Rob Simmons 20. Ned Hanigan 21. Pete Samu 22. Nick Phipps 23. Sefa Naivalu

Most Popular

To Top