USIU name squad to face Egerton in season opener

USIU Martials have named their squad to face Egerton Wasps in the rugby championship season opener to be played at the Egerton Pavillion on Saturday.
The teams back three consists of Munene Kelvin, Fred Okoth and Godfrey Kiragu. Martin Mugo and Eliud Mulakoli have been deployed in the midfield while Wilfred Odhiambo and Charles Kuka are the  halfbacks.
Skipper Oguna Akwiri, Philip Baya and Isaiah Wafula are the backrowers. George Ochieng, Sam Kiriro, Jeff Kiragu, Javan Oyombe and Dennis Lusweti are in the tight five.
The Martials will be looking to bounce back from a loss to UON’s Mean Machine in the finals of the Universities category of the floodies tournament.
Egerton, on the other hand, go into the game buoyed by the win over CUEA to finish third in the recently concluded Varsity league.
Both teams will be looking for a perfect start in the highly competitive championship league hoping for a promotion to the Kenya cup next season
USIU Martials. 1. George Ochieng 2. Sam Kiriro 3. Jeff Kiragu 4. Javan Oyombe 5. Dennis Lusweti 6. Isaiah Wafula 7. Philip Baya 8. Oguna Akwiri-C 9. Wilfred Odhiambo 10. Charles Kuka 11. Munene Kelvin 12. Mugo Martin 13. Mulakoli Eliud – VC 14. Fred Okoth 15. Godfrey Kiragu
Replacements 16. George Muyomba 17. Olulo Jeremy 18. Nyote Wakanyote 19. Joe Awuori 20. Muinde Makau 21. Mussa Shabani 22. Sidney Otieno 23. Kimanzi Mari 24.Derrick Obiero Team Management 1. Collins Nato – TM 2. Tobias Fidel- Physio 3. Tom Lagat – coach.

Most Popular

To Top