Kenya Simbas suffer in the hands of Canada in Repechage

Kenya Simbas started their Repechage campaign with a 65-19 defeat to Canada in a match staged in Marseille France.
Canada took a 27-12 lead to the break. This was after a bright start that saw them score a penalty at the second minute of the game through Gordon Mcrorie. The penalty was awarded after eighth-man Tyler Ardon was tackled without the ball.
The side got reduced to 14 men before the 10th minute with flanker Matt Heaton being sent off for a sin-bin for a dangerous tackle but Darwin Mukidza failed to level the scores from the tee. Two minutes later South African born winger Van der Merwe went over for the first try of the game.
Canada added the second try of the game after Phil Mack opted to attack the blind side and set up lock Brett Beukeboom who touched down for a 15-0 lead.  Kenya did not give up and after a few seconds of a maul, the ball was released to Tony Onyango who scored to cut the gap to 10 points.
Van der Merwe returned to the scoresheet with his second try of the day after a maul from Kingsley Jones coached side. A grabber from Sammy Oliech saw inside-center Leo Seje cross over and Sam Oliech added the extras for a 20-12 scoreline.

The Canadians stretched the lead by scoring through Theo Sauder who danced past Kenyan defence at the stroke of halftime.
After the restart, Kenya nearly added the third try but Mack made a try-saving tackle to keep Kenya at bay. Kenya’s pressure paid off as they managed a try at the centre of the post through Kabras forward George Nyambua two minutes later.  At the other end, Canada went over for a converted try by Ardon. Sauder joined the brace list with a try that put them to a 39-19 lead.
Mack and Beukeboom combined again and the latter went off as they hit 46 points. Mike Sheppard registered his first ever international try on his debut before Matt Evans made it 58-19. Van Der Merwe third try ensured they crossed the 60 point mark. Sauder converted for a 65-19 win.

Kenya Simbas: 1.Patrick Ouku, 2.Colman Were, 3.Joseph Odero, 4.George Nyambua, 5 Malcolm Onsondo 6.Andrew Omonde, 7.Davis Chenge (c), 8.Joshua Chisanga, 9.Samson Onsomu, 10.Sammy Oliech, 11.William Ambaka, 12.Leo Seje, 13.Collins Injera, 14.Darwin Mukidza 15.Tony Onyango
Replacements Philip Ikabilli, Moses Amusal

Most Popular

To Top