Namibia squad for European tour

Namibian rugby team has opted for a more youthful for the European tour where are expected to play three test matches against Russia, Spain and Portugal.
A total of the 28 players are in the Southern Russian city of Krasnodar getting ready for the match against Russia. There are only 10 from 2015 Rugby World Cup squad that have kept their places in the team.
Several other experienced players were not considered when the original team was selected due to exams or other commitments. They include Torsten van Jaarsveld, Aranos Coetzee, Janco Venter and PJ van Lill (club commitments); Wian Conradie, Louis van der Westhuizen and Johan Retief (exams); and Lesley Klim, Leneve Damens, Eugene Jantjies and Christo van der Merwe who are all injured.
Experienced centre Darryl de la Harpe captains the team, while some of the other experienced members who also represented Namibia at the 2015 World Cup include Chrysander Botha, Johann Tromp, Rohan Kitshoff, Renaldo Bothma, Tjiuee Uanivi and Casper Viviers.
Some of the exciting newcomers include lock Adriaan Ludick, scrum half Wihan von Wielligh, centre Jenrique Olivier and fullback Chad Plato.
The Namibian squad is as follows:
Props: Andre Rademeyer, Casper Viviers, Des Sethie, Jason Benade, AJ de Klerk.
Hookers: Obert Nortje, Niel van Vuuren.
Locks: Tjiuee Uanivi, Ruan Ludick, Adriaan Ludick.
Loose forwards: Thomasau Forbes, Max Katjijeko, Renaldo Bothma x, Prince Goaseb, Rohan Kitshoff (vice captain).
Scrum halves: Damian Stevens, Wihan von Wielligh.
Fly halves: PW Steenkamp, Cliven Loubser.
Centres: Darryl de la Harpe (captain), JC Greyling, Henrique Olivier.
Back three: Johan Tromp, Chrysander Botha, Chad Plato, Janry du Toit, Justin Newman, TC Kisting.
Additional reporting by The Namibia.

Most Popular

To Top