Jonathan Davies returns as Wales face Scotland in Cardiff

Wales have named eight lions including 2017 player of the series Jonathan Davies who is returning for the side after a one year absence due to injury.
Wales sevens’ all-time leading try scorer,Luke Morgan has been named in the left wing and will be making his debut in the longer version of the game.Experienced duo of Leigh Halfpenny and George North will be at fullback and right wing respectively.
Captain Alun Wyn Jones will pair with Cory Hill at second row as Dan Lydiate,Justin Tipuric and Ross Moriarty combine to form the backrow.Gareth Anscombe will be the fly half of the day and will partner with Gareth Davies at 9.Nicky Smith,Ken Owens and Dillon Lewis form the front row.
“We are looking foward to kicking off our autumn campaign on Saturday and it was great to welcome Warren back yesterday,” said Rob Howley
“Warren has been in constant dialogue with us over the past week and we have selected a very strong squad for this weekend.
” It is great to reward players on form and we are looking foward to seeing Luke make his debut on the wing.He has come through the sevens system,he will bring a point of difference to the squad and it is a great opportunity for him.Likewise it will be good to see Jarred from the bench and hopefully seeing some X-factor from him.
“We have created good strength in depth especially from the summer and have a nice balance bringing seven Lions back into the team.
” We are very respectful of this Scotland team and we are looking foward to what should be a great opening match,”concluded Howley.
Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 Luke Morgan, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Ross Moriarty, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (c), 4 Cory Hill, 3 Dillon Lewis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Nicky Smith
Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Rob Evans, 18 Leon Brown, 19 Adam Beard, 20 Aaron Wainwright, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Jarrod Evans, 23 Steff Evans
Date: Saturday, November 3
Venue: Principality Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-off: 14:45 GMT
Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France)
Assistant Referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Frank Murphy (Ireland)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)

Most Popular

To Top