KCB defend Impala Floodies title

KCB have successfully defended the Impala Floodlit tournament after a 20-18 win over Impala in the finals staged on Saturday 27 October
Heading to this KCB were in search of the seventh Floodlit main cup having won in 2005, 2007, 2013, 2014, 2015 and last year where they beat the Gazelles 18-17. Their hosts were seeking to reclaim the title they last won in 2016.
Opening minutes
The bankers opened the scores courtesy of a try from halfback Samuel Asati but Steve Osumba missed the chance add the extras two minutes into the game.
Impala tied the scores at the 13th minute after Quinto Oongo went over at the corner flag for an unconverted try.
The try motivated Impala who came stronger at KCB but their second try was ruled out with referee citing a forward pass.
Minutes later the Gazelles landed a try through halfback Xiaver Bett.  Frank Ndong charges tonned down after the try as KCB kept them backfoot in the better part of the final minutes of the half.
KCB breakthrough came on the stroke of halftime with Oscar Simiyu going over, Osumba once again missed the conversion.
Curtis Olago’s came from the break energized and produced as spectacular show enroute to the try box and lock Francis Mwita completed the move by dotting between the post. Osumba added the extras for 17-10.
The Kenya Cup defending champions were then reduced to 14 men after Brian Omondi was sinbinned. Bett hit the target from the resulting penalty and reduced the gap to four points.
The absence of Omondi saw Impala camp in KCB 22 but failed to get on the scoresheet due to a resolute defence. A maul was the last option and it guaranted them a way to the try box with Matasi Joshua touching down for Impala.
Subsitute Shaban Ahmed converted  a penalty that saw them retake the lead. Bernard Rotich missed at the other end and handed the KCB the title.

KCB squad. 1. Simiyu Oscar 2. Asin George 3. Nyandat Nelson 4. Oduor Mannaseh 5. Mwita Francis 6. Nyikuli Brian 7. Ojow Felix 8. Aguko Rocky 9. Asati Samuel 10. Osumba Steve 11. Njoroge Isaac 12. Omondi Brian 13. Onyala Vincent 14. Ojee Jacob 15. Adunga Elphas
Replacements: 16. Musila Griffin 17. Gichure George 18. Olola Jerry 19. Indimuli Ian 20. Mukaizi Elly 21. Wanjala Michael 22. Ahmed Shabaan 23. Otieno Essau

Most Popular

To Top