Impala survive Strathmore scare to reach Floodies final

Impala Saracens have booked a place in the Floodlit finals after a narrow 20-18 win over Strathmore Leos in a Semifinal match staged at Impala Club.
Both sides missed the early chance to take a lead with Quinto Oongo and Gideon Makumi sending wide their penalty attempts in the opening minutes of the half. Makumi would later break the deadlock with a three-pointer and Leos held on the slim till the 32nd minute.

Gideon Makumi preparing to take a penalty against Impala Saracens. Photo Courtesy/ Allout sports.

After minutes of search, the hosts Impala went over for the opening try that was scored by Paul Mutsami. A conversion from Kenya 7s ace Sammy Oliech saw them take a four-point lead.  Two minutes to the break, Billy Omondi widened the gap to nine points with a try at the corner flag.
The side proceeded to break leading 15-3 after Oliech drilled in a penalty from long range. On return from the break, Makumi converted a penalty that cut the gap back to nine points but Impala responded with an unconverted try from Elvis Oroko.
Strathmore push
Strathmore kept pushing and their efforts were rewarded with only nine minutes remaining. Substitute Albert Obura forced his way to the try box and the try was converted for a 20-13 scoreline. The try served as a motivation to the students who added another try at the corner flag through Alex Maina.
John Mbai charges failed to add the extras but closing minutes of the clash turned out to tensed and full of emotions that saw  Joshua Momanyi and Strathmore’s Brian Munene red carded. Impala managed to hold on and qualified for the finals once again.
Impala will now play the winner of the clash pitting defending champions KCB and Homeboyz.
Strathmore Leos: 1.Barry Guda 2.Silas Aziz 3.Andrew Okot 4.Aduda Fanuel 5. Mathews Matirii 6. Anthony Ambani 7.Barnabas Owuor 8.Gabriel Adero (C) 9.Gideon Makumi 10.Lucas Opal 11.John Juma 12.Richard Omedo 13. Walter Oteku 14.Alex Maina 15.Matoka Matoka
Replacements: 16. James Wanjala 17. Eli Motari 18. Brian Munene 19.Mohamed Abdi 20. Philemon Olang 21.Arnold Muita 22. Ian Bulali 23.Albert Obura

Most Popular

To Top