Varsity League: Blad Blad pips JKUAT

Blak Blad beat JKUAT 23-14 in the final match of the Varsity League played at UON Grounds on Saturday 29 September.
The first half ended with Blad leading 8-3. JKUAT went three points up courtesy of penalty from Jan Remke, minutes later Blad responded with a penalty and leveled matters.
Brian Mukoro dotted Blak Blad’s opening try at the last minute of the first half.  Lionel Ajelity missed his conversion.

In the closing half, Stormy Odhiambo went over for the second try that was converted by Ajelity  a 15-3 lead.
JKUAT cut the gap to nine points with their second penalty. The sides efforts to come back to the game were dealt a blow after two of their players were sent to the sinbin.
Third try
Blad would add the third try through Brian Kadenge but Ted Okal’s conversion went wide. Blad were cut to 14 men with a sinbin and Jan Remke converted a penalty to earn his side nine points.
Dennis Ambitho landed JKUAT’s first try which was the last action of the game.
Blad now join Mean Machine, Catholic Monks and Egerton Wasps who also won on day one.
The second round matches of the Varsity League will head to Catholic Monks Grounds.
Blak Blad 1. Brian Kibui 2. Edwin Mutoka 3. Givence Onyango 4. Steve Biko 5. Bravin Mukoro 6. Dennis Odhiambo 7. Robinson Wanjala 8. Humphrey Litali 9. Kelvin Muli 10. Lionel Ajelity
11. Brian Kadenge 12. Douglas Sifuna 13. Stormy Odhiambo 14. Rayan Ario 15. Ted Okal
Replacements: 16. Gimmy Mwololo 17. Collins Obure  18. Joseph Gacheru 19. Sheldon Khai 20. Ken Wilson Obonyo 21. Kenedy Kolwe 22. Emmanuel Omae 23. Kelvin Gathu
JKUAT 1.Ondeng Wilkie 2.Tenya Rodgers 3.Dennis Waithaka 4.Collins Lwande 5.Emmanuel Simiyu 6.Masicha Boutros 7.Wafula Vincent 8.David Mukuna 9.Katoni Allen 10.Abayo Leslie 11.Nicholas Hawi 12.David Singa 13.Jan Remke 14.Dennis Ambitho 15.Asava Eugin
Replacements: 16.Mugenda Venanzio 17.Gibson Mugwe 18. Melvin Kibet 19.Harry Odongo 20.Barasa Evans 21.Mike Makau 22.Dan Dindi 23.Andrew Muthiani

Most Popular

To Top