Past Sevens World Cup winners

With the seventh edition of the Rugby Sevens World Cup getting underway on 20 July, we take a look at past winners of the prestigious Melrose Cup since its inaugural edition in 1993.
New Zealand and Fiji have both won the tournament twice with England and Wales boasting of one title each.
In the inaugural edition held in April 1993 in Scotland, England defeated Australia 21–17 in the final at Murrayfield in Edinburgh to become the first team to win the Melrose Cup.
Fiji defeated South Africa 24–21 to take the title for the first time.The 1997 final is to date still considered to be one of the best sevens matches of all time.
The 2001 edition  was held in Argentina. In what was the first major rugby tournament to be hosted in South America, New Zealand saw off Australia to lift the Melrose Cup for the first time.
In 2005,Fiji under the stewardship of star skipper Waisale Serevi became the first nation to win two Sevens World Cups having enjoyed similar glory in 1997.Serevi was among the try scorers as the pacific islanders edged out New Zealand 29-27 in the final.
Wales did the unthinkable in Dubai,beating Argentina 19-12 in the cup final with tries from Richie Pugh, Tal Salley (tournament’s MVP) and Aled Thomas.
New Zealand claimed Gold in Russia in 2013 following an emphatic 33-0 blitz of England in the final staged at Moscow’s Luzhniki stadium.
2013,Moscow, Russia:New Zealand
2009, Dubai, UAE: Wales
2005, Hong Kong: Fiji
2001, Mar del Plata, Argentina: New Zealand
1997, Hong Kong: Fiji
1993, Edinburgh, Scotland:

Most Popular

To Top