SA names strong squad for World Cup, Synman makes cut

South Africa have completed their training at Mossel Bay and the head coach Neil Powell has named a strong 12 man squad to play in the Rugby World Cup Sevens to be played at AT&T Parc from 20-22 July in San Francisco.
The squad named has international experience with all the 12 players having featured in the last World series across ten tournaments. However, only  Philip Synman has Rugby World Cup Sevens experience. The Blitzbok captain featured in the Dubai (2009) and Moscow (2013) while the other eleven players will make their debuts at this level.
This makes Synman the first South African to play in three RWC Sevens tournaments. The rest of the team consists of Blitzboks regulars. Rosko Specman and Selvyn Davids who missed the last two  World series played at London and Paris last month due to injuries are back.
Injuries robbed the squad some players who played in Moscow in 2013, which includes Kyle Brown, Cecil Afrika, Chris Dry  and Seabelo Senatla. Tim Agaba and Stedman Gans also have injuries while Kwagga Smith and Sikhumbuzo Notshe were not considered due to their involvement in Super Rugby.
Blitzboks used 28 players during the 2017/18 World Series and the Commonwealth Games thus increasing chances of the veterans being unavailable for the selection, though the head coach extended his gratitude to all who participated.
“A couple of players missed out on final selection, but did contribute to our overall preparations and those efforts are appreciated and acknowledged. Just as all of the 28 players contributed towards our World Series title, all involved did great work in order to get these 12 players ready for next weekend.” the coach told SA official portal.
The team squad comprises of;
Ryan Oosthuizen, Philip Snyman (c), Dylan Sage, Zain Davids, Werner Kok, Heino Bezuidenhout, Dewald Human, Rosko Specman, Justin Geduld, Selvyn Davids, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Ruhan Nel

Most Popular

To Top