Kenya Simbas edge Uganda Rugby Cranes in Elgon Cup first leg

Kenya Simbas started their Elgon Cup defence with a 34-16 win over Uganda Rugby Cranes in the first leg tie staged at the Legends Club in Kampala this Saturday 26 May. 
The return leg that will also act as a 2019 World Cup qualifying match will be staged in Nairobi on 7 July 2018.
Simbas got themselves onto the score sheet courtesy of five tries, three conversions and a penalty as the hosts managed a solitary try, one conversion and three penalties.
Jacob Ojee opened the scoring for Kenya Simbas barely five minutes into the match with his KCB counterpart Darwin Mukidza booting the extra twos for a 7-0 lead.
Ivan Magomu and Mukidza would exchange penalties soon afterwards taking the scores to 10-3 in favour of the visitors.
Lock Oliver Mang’eni and centre Leo Seje would both ink their names on the score sheet before Mukidza took the scoreline away from the reach of the Ugandans with two successful conversion kicks.
Magomu would strike a brace of penalties to ensure Uganda triled 24-9 at the break.
Philip Wokorach was introduced at the start of the second half as Uganda sought to claw themselves back into the contest.
Simbas added to their tally courtesy of a try by Elkeans Musonye but this time around Mukidza sent his conversion attempt wide.
Xavier Bett and Malcolm Onsando would be introduced for Samson Onsomu and Andrew Chogo at scrumhalf and lock respectively.
Uganda finally got their first try of the match through their skipper Asuman Mugerwa before Wokorach converted to bring the scores to 29-16.
The Simbas would have the final say as substitute Biko Adema went over for the fifth try to seal a 34-16 win.
Uganda:1.Asuman Mugerwa (c),2. Paul Ssekate 3. Edgar Pajob 4. Simon Olet, 5.Robert Aziku 6.Brian Asaba 7.Eliphaz Emong 8.Marvin Odongo 9.Ivan Kirabo, 10.Ivan Magomu 11.Justin Kimono (vc) 12.Pius Ogena 13.Eric Mula, 14.James Odongo 15.Adrian Kasito (Philip Wokorach)
Replacements: 16. Saul Kivumbi 17.Adnan Mutebi 18. Nathan Bwambale 19.Byron Oketayot 20.Musa Muwonge 21.Ian Munyani 22.Philip Wokorach 23.Aaron Ofoyrwoth
Kenya :1. Patrick Ouko 2. Peter Karia  3. Joseph Odero 4.Andrew Chogo (Malcolm Onsando) 5. Oliver Mang’eni 6. George Nyambua 7.Elkeans Musonye 8. Davies Chenge(c) 9. Samson Onsomu (Xavier Bett) 10. Isaac Adimo (Biko Adema) 11. Jacob Ojee 12. Leo Seje 13. Peter Kilonzo 14.Tony Onyango  15. Darwin Mukidza
Replacements: 16. Philip Ikambili 17. Oscar Simiyu 18. Curtis Lilako 19. Malcolm Onsando 20. Martin Owila  21. Xavier Bett  22. Biko Adema  23. Vincent Mose
Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa)

Most Popular

To Top