Namibia names squad for World Cup qualifiers

Africa Gold Cup holders Namibia have named a 34-man squad that will do duty at this year’s Africa Gold Cup that doubles as a qualifier to the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan.
Head coach Phil Davies has summoned upto 34 players with 10 others being named on standby incase of injuries or unavailability.
Some of the notable names in the 34-man squad are youthful halfback Cliven Loubser, Kitschoff Rohan and Darryl De LA Harpe.
The likes of Thomasau Forbes, Smith Collen, Johann Tromp and Christo Van Der Merwre are named as reserves.
Namibia’s Gold cup campaign kicks off with a home game against Uganda on Saturday 16 June followed by Tunisa to visit Namibia on 23 June.
The first away game for the team to travel to Morocco on the 30th June. Zimbabwe follows in Buluwayo on 4th August with the final game against Kenya;a potential title decider at the Hage Geingob stadium on the 18th August.
The overall winner of the 2018 Africa Gold Cup is set to secure automatic qualification to the 2019 Rugby World Cup where they will slot in pool B alongside current World champions New Zealand,South Africa,Italy and the Repechage winner.
The second placed side in the Africa Gold Cup heads to a four-team repechage tournament in November where they will face sides from the America’s, Asia and Europe.
Namibia:1 Botha, Chrysander 2 Bothma, Renaldo 3 Coetzee, Johannes (Aranos) 4 Conradie, Wian 5 De Klerk, AJ 6 De la Harpe, Darryl 7 Deysel, Johan 8 Du Toit, Janry 9 Greyling, JC 10 Jantjies, Eugene 11 Katjijeko, Max 12 Kisting, Helarius (TC) 13 Kitshoff, Rohan 14 Klim, Lesley 15 Loubser, Cliven 16 Ludick, Ruan 17 Ludick, Adriaan 18 Newman, Justin 19 Nortje, Obert 20 Retief, Johan 21 Rossouw, Divan 22 Sethie, Desiderius 23 Steenkamp, PW 24 Stevens, Damian 25 Theron, Nelius 26 Tjeriko, Mahepisa 27 Uanivi, Tjiuee 28 Van der Westhuizen, Louis 29 Van Jaarsveld, Torsten 30 Van Lill, Pieter-Jan 31 Venter, Janco 32 Viviers, Casper 33 Von Wielligh, Wihan 34 Wilson, Gino
On standby: 1 Smith, Collen 2 Forbes, Thomasau 3 Goaseb, Prince 4 Van der Merwe, Christo 5 Rademeyer, André 6 Berg, Nian 7 Plato, Chad 8 Philander, David 9 Van Wyk, Russell 10 Tromp, Johann

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top