Driftwood 7s:Will Quins extend their dominance in Mombasa?

The National 7s Series will kick off with all the clubs making a trip to Mombasa for the Driftwood 7S on Saturday 2 and Sunday 3 September.
The competition which is in its 27th year has been dominated by Kenya Harlequins who have won the title 12 times. Mwamba has four main Cup to their name while KCB, Barclays, Strathmore Leos, Mean Machine, Impala, Homeboyz and  defunct Ulinzi are the other winners of the competition.

Quins poses with Driftwood 7s trophy in 2016. Photo Courtesy

Harlequins won last year’s edition beating Homeboyz 19-12 courtesy of a late try from Hosea Odhiambo.The two side were tied at 12-12 at full time. The win saw them reclaim the title they had last won in 2010. In 2010 they beat their Ngong Road rivals Impala 24-14 at Mombasa Sport Club.
In 2015, Mwamba were the winners of the leg. Mwamba faced off with Nakuru who went down without fighting. Kulabu scored tries through Horace Otieno, Brad Owako, Collins Injera and Humphrey Kayange for a 29-0 win. In that final, Nakuru RFC winger Nelson Oyoo was sent off for biting Collins Injera.

Mwamba players pose with trophy after winning driftwood 7s in 2015. Photo by Mwamba Rugby

Mwamba also won the 2011 edition beating Kenya Harlequins 24-17. Colllins Injera, Humphrey Kayange’s converted brace was enough to earn the Railways based side the Main Cup.
KCB won the 2012 edition, beating Quins 17-10 in the finals. The Bankers went on to defend the title a year later beating Quins again by a 12-5 scoreline. Their bid to match Kenya Harlequins record (the only team to have won Driftwood 7s three times in a row) received a blow in 2014.

Homeboyz Rugby skipper Leonard Mugaisi receives Driftwood 7s trophy in 2014. Photo courtesy.

They made it to final of the tournament only to be denied by Homeboyz Rugby. Leonard Mugaisi, Augustine Lugonzo, Michael Wanjala converted tries were enough for the Deejays to deny the bankers a treble. It was the first ever Driftwood 7s title for Paul Murunga’s charges.
Quins won the Inaugural Driftwood 7s in 1990. Got their first treble by winning the 1994, 1995 1996 edition. They managed to break the record they had set in the 90s by winning the tournament four times in a row from 2003 to 2006.
Quins also holds the record of most Cup finals appearance at Driftwood 7s. Having been placed in Pool B, the Ngong road based side  has a huge task against fellow Kenya Cup side Mwamba who have four Driftwood cups to their name, Kisii and fast rising Oilers are also in the pool and they will be hoping to upset the two bigwigs.
Homeboyz will be chasing for the second main Cup victory in Mombasa but will have to deal with Nakuru who will be fighting for their first ever triumph in the coastal town in Poo A. Blak Blad and former Kenya Cup side Western Bulls will be seeking to impress in this short version of the game.
Impala, Mean Machine and KCB have won two titles each in Driftwood and they will be in a bid for the third title while host Mombasa will be fighting  to bag the first ever title infront of home fans.
The last pool will see 2009 winners Strathmore Leos square it out with Kabras, Nondescript and KCA who are in for the first title.

KCB celebrates the 2013 Driftwood 7s. Photo Courtesy

Winners of the last 10 Driftwood 7s
Kenya Harlequins -2016
Mwamba- 2015
Homeboyz- 2014
KCB -2013
KCB- 2012
Kenya Harlequins-2010
Strathmore- 2009
Mwamba -2007
Kenya Harlequin-2006
Who will win the 2017 edition of Driftwood 7s? Gives us your predictions in the comments section…

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top