Paris 7s wrap: SA wins overall Series

South Africa earned themselves 2016-17 World Rugby Sevens Series title after beating New Zealand in Semis and added on the victory a Paris 7 Main Cup title after a 15-5 win over Scotland in the final.
Bliztboks scored their final tries through Kok, Sage and Snyman while Wight pulled one back but it was not enough to bring the Scots back to the game.
SA went on to win the fifth main cup final this season having won in Dubai, Wellington Sydney, Las Vegas after eight final appearance in these season. Out of the 45 matches played these season the side has lost only eight games.
New Zealand finished third after 12-5 win over England while USA beat 24-19 Samoa to finish fifth. Argentina beat Australia in the Challenge trophy final 33-12.
Read: SA awaits Kenya in London 7s 
Japan beat Russia 19-10 to win the 13th place play off as Kenya dropped off in 13th place semifinals.
SA 15-5 Scotland
NZ 12-5 England
USA 24-19 Samoa
Argentina 33-12 Australia
Japan 19-10
Main Semis
SA 26-5 New Zealand
Scotland 19-17 England
Main Cup quarters
NZ 14-0 France
SA 12-0 Samoa
England 26-12 USA
Scotland 24-0 Fiji.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top