Nakuru 10s throwback: How the finals ended in last five

The 28th edition of the Nakuru 10 aside rugby tournament will go down this Easter weekend at the Nakuru Athletic Club.
The last five editions have been dominated by the Strathmore Leos and KCB. The scrummage.co.ke takes you through the last five 10 aside final matches that were quite entertaining.
Kabras in the final
Last year Kenya Cup defending Champions Kabras RFC reached the final of the competition that was played at Nakuru Agricultural showground but were denied a maiden title in their maiden appearance at the final by Strathmore Leos.
Tony Owour touched down twice to hand the students a 10-0 win over the Sugarmen in a tough final match.
The previous year had seen Nakuru RFC win the title in another tight final match played at Nakuru Athletic Club. Martin Muita was brave enough to go past KCB’s defence in a rainy evening and touched down the only try for a 5-0 win.
Sudden death
The 2014 edition was won by KCB. After a 15-15 draw in the regular time the Bankers managed to overcome stubborn Strathmore Leos through Ken Moseti’s penalty in sudden death time for a 18-15 win.
The win saw them retain the trophy that they had won in 2013 after a 10-0 win over Mean Machine. The bankers touched down two unconverted tries through Ian Indimuli and Jacob Ojee to win 2013 final.
Read: Laiser edges Barbarian to finish top
In 2012, the final was all about Sammy Mutari. The Strathmore Leos Ace scored two tries to hand the students a 12-0 win victory hosts Nakuru RFC.
Here are the last 14 winner of the competition
2012- Strathmore Leos
2011 – Nakuru/Strathmore Leos
2010 – Strathmore/Mwamba
2009 – Mwamba
2008 – Impala
2007 – Impala
2006 – Mwamba
2005 – Kenya Harlequins
2004 – Impala
2003 – Kenya Harlequins
Share with us your memorable edition of 10 aside 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top