Connect with us


Nakuru register second home win after beating MMUST

Nakuru RFC registered another home win beating newbies MMUST 23-10 in a Kenya Cup match played at Nakuru Athletic Club on Saturday.

Nakuru landed three tries, two penalties and two conversions while MMUST got a try, a conversion and a penalty.

This was the first-ever Kenya Cup date between these two sides. Nakuru headed to this clash having won their season’s opener against Blak Blad 13-8 and their target was to build on the narrow win. MMUST were from a heavy defeat in the hands of Kabras and their target was to redeem themselves.

The visitors would get on the scoresheet first with centre Timothy Mmasi becoming the first player to score a try for the Makakas in Kenya Cup after beating his markers from open play following a beautiful support play by his teammates. Their conversion attempt by John Bahati hit the target and they would lead 7- 0.

Wanyore would respond through captain Kelvin Kabole whose try was converted to tie the scores. Felix Oloo coached side then led for the first time in the match thanks to a try by fullback Chrispine Onyango after the ball was channelled from a scrum minutes later.

Nakuru would then take a 10 point lead to the break after landing a converted try through flanker Felix Okoth. In the closing half, there were no tries.

MMUST added three more points with Mmasi slotting in a penalty for a 17-10 scoreline. The hosts,on the other hand, added two penalties for six more points that denied MMUST a crucial point from the defeat.

Nakuru walked away with four points after missing another bonus point. They have eight points after two matches of the 2021 season.

Nakuru RFC:  1. Newton Okeyo 2. Emmanuel Mboya 3. Mike Mare 4. Thomas Okeyo 5. Dan Githanga 6. Felix Okoth 7. Kelvin Kabole (C) 8. Edwin Makori 9. Samuel Mwaura 10. Fredrick Odongo 11. Billy Kipchirchir 12. Brian Kimani 13. John Okoth 14. Hannington Wabwire 15. Crispin Onyango

Replacements: 16. Edwin Anunda 17. Jamleck Karani 18. Felix Oleche 19. Kennedy Mwangi 20. Gilbert Ochieng 21. Donald Aluoch 22. Victor Matiko 23. Jenkins Kipruto

MMUST squad: 1 Kevin Totty 2 Gibson Kajilwa 3 Collins Ngoko 4 Calvin Wabuyele 5 Paywick Munoko 6 Benson Mwata 7 Jada Abdon 8 Nelson Babu 9 Veron Kaburu 10 Nobert Lumbwami 11 Lameck Ambetsa 12 John Bahati 13 Timothy Mmasi   14 Martin Masika 15 Isaiah Mulongo

Replacements: 16 Michael Onyango 17 Mark Oluoch 18 Aggrey Javan 19 Austin Amukoa 20 Erick Cantona 21Josephat Omulefu 22 Elvis Amunga 23 Paul Odongo


Must See