Connect with us


Strathmore return to Kenya Cup after seeing off Suburbs

Strathmore Leos put up a strong fight in the closing half to beat Northern Suburbs 23-6 and qualify for Kenya Cup.

The thirst to enter the Kenya cup was evident in both teams from the time they began to warm up. The visitors proved some strength in the opening minutes but Leos defence was watertight.

The Suburbs then took an early lead after a penalty taken by Fidens Tony.

Suburbs failed to extend their lead via another penalty shoot and they were later reduced to 14 men after a yellow card.

Towards the end of the first half, it was evident the hosts were struggling to contain the pressure from their guests. Leos would however equalize through a penalty by Arnold Muita for 3-3 at halftime.

The second half kicked off in a high time with both teams keen to take home victory. The Leos bolstered their attack and seemed to be hitting the Cubs hard.

Cubs for the second time we’re reduced to 14 men after their loosehead prop was the sin-binned. Half-back Muita made the one man advantage count as he touched down for the first try of the match.

His conversion was on point changing the scoreboard to 10-3. Scrums dominated a better part of the second half and one scrum birthed a try for Leo’s extending their lead to 17-3 following Philemon Olang’s try and Muita’s conversion.

A penalty for the Cubs narrowed the gap to 17-6. Leos through another penalty by Andrew Matoka pushed the lead to 20-6.

Their final  penalty from Matoka widened the gap and saw them edge closer to Kenya Cup.

A forward pass from Wilfred Waswa had the ref blow the final whistle stamping a 23-6 hosts’ victory and earned them promotion.

Strathmore Leos squad: 1. Gabriel Adero.2. Trevor Opondo.3. Arnold Omollo.4. John Aswani 5. Jude Baraka 6. Fanuel Aduda 7. Philemon Olang 8. Bethwel Anami. 9. Arnold Muita. 10. Andrew Matoka 11. Cecil Otieno. 12. Wiseman Aganya. 13. Richard Omedo. 14. Alex Maina. 15. Lucas Oppal

Replacements: 16. Clinton Khasai 17. Rodney Ambale 18. Jack Angawa. 19. Barnabas Owuor. 20. Austin Mboya.21. Walter Omanyo 22. Mathew Mogaya 23. Gideon Makumi.

Northern Suburbs squad: 1.Tony Amoya 2.Wilfred Waswa (C) 3.Dennis Waithaka 4.Alton Mudaka 5.Edwin Nyachio 6.Brenan Rashid 7.John Oyaro 8.Reegan Juma 9.Benson Amadi 10.Fidens Tony 11.Lance Alu 12.Patrick Ochieng 13.Brian Mtugi 14.Eugene Omondi (VC) 15.Collins Maina

Replacements:16.Dan Kagwa 17.Maxwel Atera 18.Mavin Ochieng’ 19.Brian Omondi 20.John Ngige 21.Alex Mulwa 22.Felix Omondi 23.Wilson Juma



Must See