MMUST promoted to Kenya Cup after beating Mean Machine

Mmust have qualified for Kenya Cup after rallying to beat Mean Machine 21-12 in a KRU Championship semis staged at Mmust Grounds.

They became the third side from Kakamega to qualify for Kenya Cup after Western Bulls and Kabras.

The hosts started off slowing and Machine settled quickly with their first surge forward earning them a penalty. Festus Shiasi hit the target to earn his side a 3-0 lead.

Machine were at it again forcing their hosts on backfoot and their efforts paid off with Shiasi’s drop-goal doubling the lead for Eshchuma.

MMUST would then score but their try was ruled out with the referee citing a step out. The Makakas would then take a lead minutes later with Norbert Lumbwani’s beautiful kick setting up speedster Tyson Juma who beat three of his markers to score at the centre. Juma rose and converted for a 7-6 lead.

The lead was shortlived as Machine’s got three more points from a drop goal by Shiasi. The side would take a 9-7 lead to the break.

From the break, Machine stretched the lead scoring another penalty that saw them maintain the lead.

John Bahati would miss two penalties same to Mean Machine’s Trevor Asina.  Mmust second try came following a quick tap from a penalty by Venance Shikuba who caught Machine napping and dived over for the second try. Timothy  Mmasi drilled in a conversion from the tee for a 14-12 lead.

MMUST tempo would rise and Mmasi scored at the death to lead 19-12. Mmasi rose and converted his try for a 21-12 win.

Mmust becomes the first Western Region University to qualify for Kenya Cup.

MMUST: 1. Kevin Omondi 2.Gibson Perez 3.Michael Onyango 4.Calvin Wabuyele 5. Nelson Babu 6.Abdon Jadah 7.Venace Shikuba 8.Felix Wamocho 9.Derrick Okisai 10.Nobert Lumbwani 11.Claus Shirievo 12.John Bahati 13.Timothy Mmasi 14.Tyson Juma 15.Isaiah Mulongo

Replacements: 16.Collins Ngoko 17.Jackton Munayi 18.Zedrick Ikhokoro 19.Mark Samba 20.Benson Mwata 21.Kevin Abuga 22.Elvis Amunya 23.Lameck Ambetsa

Mean Machine: 1. Bob Onchonga 2. Grevis Onyino 3. Philemon Opiyo 4. James Oluoch 5. Mike Oduor 6. Zac Ondijo 7. Brian Marube 8. Kevin Daniel 9. Marvin Karungi 10. Festus Safari 11. Victor Shaviya 12. Johnmark Awiti 13. Bruce Odhiambo 14. Laurence Ndung’u 15. Trevor Asina

Replacements: 16. Adam Mugo 17. Davies Onyimbi 18. Mike Savonje 19. Richard Alai 20. Adam Nyamwea 21. Victor Mwangi 22. Richiel Wangila 23. Dennis Nyongesa

Most Popular

To Top