Connect with us


Africa Men’s 7s Past winners: Where do Kenya 7s and Uganda rank?

The Africa Men’s 7s (formerly Africa Cup Sevens) has been played annually since 2013 with the tournaments serving as the qualifiers for the Rugby World Cup 7s and Olympic 7s on some occasions.

Before 2013, the Africa Cup was played after four years and was mainly used to determine the African representative to the Rugby World Cup 7s. After 2013, a decision was made to have it played annually.

Kenya 7s have been crowned Africa 7s Champions five times and have been to the finals a record eight times. The first final appearance was in 2000 during the 2001 Rugby World Cup 7s qualifiers held in Nairobi. Kenya finished second after a 26-14 loss to Zimbabwe and qualified for the World Cup.

The competition would return four years later (2004), again serving as the World Cup qualifier and Kenya put up impressive performances in the competition held in Lusaka Zambia to become Champions. They beat Namibia 33-14 in the finals and qualified for the World Cup.

Read Also:

Shujaa retained the title four years later in 2008, this time round beating Zimbabwe 26-14 in Tunis Tunisia to book the third straight World Cup ticket.

In 2012, Kenya got an automatic slot in the World Cup following a superb performance at the World 7s Series hence skipping the edition.  The qualifiers held in Rabat Morroco saw Zimbabwe reclaim the title they last won in 2000 beat beating Tunisia 33-10 in the finals. The two got a ticket in the 2013 Rugby World Cup joining Kenya and South Africa who had gotten direct tickets.

When the Africa Cup 7s was introduced in 2013, Mombasa was picked as hosts and Kenya fielded development side with the likes of Collins Injera, Oscar Ouma, Willy Ambaka, Horace Otieno and Lavin Asego being left out in preparation for the World 7s Series and the Kenya B side beat Zimbabwe 24-19 to be crowned Champions. Kenya C (Chairman select ) also took part in the tournament reaching the plate finals.

Number of Africa Men’s 7s titles won by each country

Most Africa Men’s 7s titles per country. Kenya 7s have won the African Title record five times.

A year later, they lost the title, falling 38-5 to South Africa in the final played at Prince Edward, Harare. Kenya managed to bounce back in style in 2015, qualifying for Olympics after 19-17 win over Zimbabwe at Barnard Stadium, Kempton Park in Johannesburg.

Uganda would become the first-ever side after Kenya 7s to complete a double in the competition. They won the Africa Cup in 2016 in Nairobi beating Namibia 38–19 and retained it in 2017 edging Zimbabwe10–7 in Kampala, Kenya missed the tournament held in Kampala.

The name of the competition changed to Africa Men’s Sevens in 2018 with Zimbabwe winning the title for the first time since 2012, beating Kenya 17-5 in Monastir. Kenya reclaimed the title in 2019, whipping Uganda in the finals to book a ticket to the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

The 2020 edition was cancelled following the COVID-19.

Most final appearance, total wins, losses and win percentage 

Africa Men’s 7s final’s statistics. (Note SA has featured once in the competition)

Africa Men’s 7s Past winners

Past Africa Men’s 7s finals and results.


Must See

More in NEWS