Ireland players in a past match. Photo Courtesy

How Ireland line-up against England in Autumn Nations Cup

James Ryan will captain the Ireland team that will play England in the second round of the Autumn Nations Cup at Twickenham on Saturday.

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has made four changes to the team. With Jonathan Sexton out due to injury, Ryan will become the 107th player to captain Ireland and the fourth-youngest Ireland captain of the professional era, following on from Peter O’Mahony, Brian O’Driscoll (both 23) and Paul O’Connell (24).

Quinn Roux strong performance against Wales earns him a second successive start at lock, with an unchanged tight five completed by Cian Healy, Ronan Kelleher and Andrew Porter.

CJ Stander returns to the blindside berth, which he last filled against Scotland in February. Peter O’Mahony shifts to openside and Caelan Doris continues at number 8.

Jamison Gibson-Park retains the number 9 jersey. It is an all-Leinster half-back pairing as Ross Byrnewhose only previous start was against England last year, replaces the injured Sexton.

The final two changes see Bundee Aki and Keith Earls come back into the starting XV. Aki, a try scorer against England in August 2019, replaces the injured Robbie Henshaw in midfield where he partners Chris Farrell.

Having recovered from a back injury, Earls will win his 86th cap on the right-wing. It is a second successive start at full-back for Hugo Keenan, while James Lowe continues on the left following his try-scoring debut.

Ireland squad: 15. Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster) 3 14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 85 13. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 11 12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 28 11. James Lowe (Leinster) 1 10. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 8 9. Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster) 3 1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 101 2. Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster) 4 3. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 29 4. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 13 5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) (capt) 29 6. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 43 7. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 70 8. Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 5

Replacements: 16. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 13 17. Ed Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 3 18. Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 12 19. Iain Henderson (Academy/Ulster) 55 20. Will Connors (UCD/Leinster) 3 21. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 84 22. Billy Burns (UIster) 1 23. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 30

Like it? Share with your friends!


Choose A Format
Personality quiz
Series of questions that intends to reveal something about the personality
Trivia quiz
Series of questions with right and wrong answers that intends to check knowledge
Voting to make decisions or determine opinions
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
The Classic Internet Countdowns
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item
Upload your own images to make custom memes
Youtube, Vimeo or Vine Embeds
Soundcloud or Mixcloud Embeds
Photo or GIF
GIF format
%d bloggers like this: