Action from the 2019/20 Men's 15s Ghana Rugby Club Championship that was won by Dansoman Hurricanes when they beat Griffons 39 to 19 at the St Thomas Aquinas Park in Accra on 29 February

Hurricanes crowned Champions in Ghana

Dansoman Hurricanes RFC were crowned as the 2019/20 Ghana Rugby Club Men’s 15’s Champions when the beat Griffons RFC by 39-19 on Saturday 29 February 2020 at the St Thomas Aquinas Park in Accra, Ghana.

It was a tough match that could have gone either way in the second half after a half-time score of 15-9 in favour of Hurricanes.

Hurricanes, however, took control in the second half and ran in a number of tries.

Tries for Hurricanes were scored by Ekow Awoonor Williams (1)  Herbert Adjola (2) Abdul Wahid Iliasu (1) Yusif Jalilu (1) and Adjei Tettegah (1).

Emmanuel Owusu Bamfi, owner of the Hurricanes, said that he was delighted with the win.

“Hurricanes have been knocking on the doors of a Championship Crown for a few years and it is very satisfying to eventually reap the rewards of all the hard work over the years. My congratulations also go to Griffons who were worthy opponents, and of course to the Hurricanes team of coaches and players who thoroughly deserve this victory,” Bamfi said.

Mr Steve Noi, Ghana Rugby’s Tournament Commissioner said that it was always a great occasion to get to the conclusion of a domestic league.

“The Ghana Rugby Club Championship has become a tournament that all clubs and players look forward to every year. This also forms the basis for the introduction and identification of our next Ghana Eagles and it was heartwarming to see a fierce battle and with that a great display of solidarity by both teams and all of those involved, “ Noi said.


Dansoman Hurricanes RFC

Abdul Wahid Iliasu, Amissah Andrews Kwamena, Boamah Prince, Rourno Kpessemoure, Achiraf Akpabli, Lukman Yaya, Kpovi Kodjo Mawuena, Ana Edi Botcho, Kwao Moro, Allotey Emmanuel, Godfred Nii Armah Sarbah, Olola Radji Karimou, Eric Adjetey Sowah, Adamson Christian Percy, Yusif Jalilu. Reserves: Ayeetey William, Ekow Awoonor Williams, Herbert Adjola, Adjei Tettegah, Dzata, Francis Donkor, Michael Acquaye, Dorpenyo Alex, Bosoka Calestus.

Griffons RFC

Williams Yeboah, Isaac Arthur Mensah, Emmanuel Mensah, Edward Afful, Geotrah Desmond Atsu, Eric Acquah, Thomas York, Emmanuel Kwado Asante Ofori, John Donkoh, Joseph Mensah, Kelvin Bosomtwe, Laurence Gard, Emmanuel Terakuu, Theophilus Appiah, Manfred Hammond. Reserves: Cyril Ayivor, John Malamala, Patrick Hayford, John Hawkson, Manuel Lippens, Clement Dennis, Apprey Samuel, Wilberforce Bulter Thomas.


Like it? Share with your friends!

Choose A Format
Personality quiz
Series of questions that intends to reveal something about the personality
Trivia quiz
Series of questions with right and wrong answers that intends to check knowledge
Voting to make decisions or determine opinions
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
The Classic Internet Countdowns
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item
Upload your own images to make custom memes
Youtube, Vimeo or Vine Embeds
Soundcloud or Mixcloud Embeds
Photo or GIF
GIF format
%d bloggers like this: