Kenya Cup holders KCB roar past Oilers


Kenya cup champions stayed on course to defend their title with a emphatic 43-13 win over a visiting Oilers at the Ruaraka grounds.

Despite a strong first half show from the Gibson Weru side, things came crumbling for them in the second half, jeopardizing their playoff chase.

The two sides are familiar with each other having met in the pre season where KCB held off Oilers’ stiff opposition to win the 2019 Floodlight tournament 23-14 at the Impala club. The first leg of the Kenya cup season pitting the two sides against each other saw the bankers get a 43-13 win against a not so well oiled side in Nakuru leaving tactician Gibson Weru with more questions than answers heading into their third meeting.

Oilers placed fifth on the Kenya log before the match know how important a point from the Den can be for them with Mwamba and Nakuru threatening to oust them from the playoff spots. Only three points separate fifth placed Oilers and seventh placed Nakuru, probably taking the playoff battle to the dead.

The bankers struck first through Felix Ojoo, receiving a back in pass from half back Samuel Asati to dive over, Darwin Mukidza adding the extras for a 7-0 lead.

Mark Kwemoi and Darwin Mukidza exchanged points from the boot to make the scores 10-3.

KCB then capitalised on scrum in the oilers’ five meter zone for Levy Amunga who was playing at first receiver to muscle his way over the white chalk. Half time scores 15-3.

KCB started the second stanza firing on all cylinders, a fast rising Mike Kimwele going over under a minute from the restart, Johnstone Olindi adding the extra twos to make it 22-3.

Kwemoi was at again, slotting in a three pointer from nearly 50 meters out before Curtis Lilako took the game out of Oilers reach with a try near the uprights.

Francis Mwita, Steve Wamai and Darwin Mukidza grabbed a try each to send the game to 43-6, effectively ruling out an Oilers comeback.

Oilers would grab a late penalty try after repeated infringements in the scrum.

KCB: 1. Oscar Sorano 2. Griffin Musila 3. Curtis Lilako 4. Francis Mwita 5. Oliver Mang’eni 6. Steve Wamai 7. Felix Ojoo 8. Davis Chenge 9. Samuel Asati 10. Johnstone Olindi 11. Mike Kimwele 12. Levy Amunga 13. Brian Omondi 14. Isaac Njoroge 15. Darwin Mukidza

Replacements: 16. George Asin 17. Patrick Ouko 18. Nelson Nyandat 19. Shaddon Munoko 20. Brian Nyikuli 21. Michael Wanjala 22. George Maranga 23. Shaban Ahmed

Oilers: 1. Francis Atiti 2. Kelvin  Mokoyani 3. Rashid Shimoka 4. Clinton Odhiambo 5. Brian Ndirangu 6. Samuel Were 7. Dalmus Chituyi 8. Rodgers Audi 9. Kevin Mburu 10. Geoffrey Ominde – C 11. Nickson Mogire  12. Derrick Ludenyo 13. Austin Sikutwa  14.  Derrick Mbaire 15. Mark Kwemoi
Replacements 16. Emmanuel Mulaa 17. Edward Mwaura 18. Vincent Mwikali 19. Javan Ateh 20. Aziz Annan 21. Andrew Odero 22. Emman Okwako 23. Beldad Ogeta

Like it? Share with your friends!

Dennis O

Choose A Format
Personality quiz
Series of questions that intends to reveal something about the personality
Trivia quiz
Series of questions with right and wrong answers that intends to check knowledge
Voting to make decisions or determine opinions
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
The Classic Internet Countdowns
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item
Upload your own images to make custom memes
Youtube, Vimeo or Vine Embeds
Soundcloud or Mixcloud Embeds
Photo or GIF
GIF format
%d bloggers like this: