Eight-try Kabras ease past Nondies

Kabras have now hit 70 points on the Kenya Cup log after beating Nondies 52-6 in a Kenya Cup clash staged at the Bull Ring on Saturday.

The league leaders needed maximum points to keep the hope of finishing top for the second time in a row. And as it has been the norm in their home games, they started off strongly. By halftime, they had already bagged the bonus point try.  Eighth man Lawrence Buyachi rose from the scrum to touch down the opening try which Ntabeni Dukisa converted for a 7-0.

Nondies pulled back after with penalty from former Kenya 7s star Biko Adema. Charlton Mokua who started the clash as a lock joined the list of scorers after touching down the second try. To earn the third try, Kabras employed a maul before the ball was channelled to the backs. In-form Brian Tanga then stepped past his markers to score the try.

In the dying minutes of the first half, fly-half Dukisa linked up with winger Paul Abuto who crossed over for the fourth try. Dukisa’s fine run on the boot saw him convert all the tries for a 28-3 lead at halftime.

The second half started off with Adema adding three points for his side. Kabras responded at the other end with Buyachi setting up George Nyambua after a maul and the flanker went over for the fifth try for Kabras. Dukisa’s conversion saw the side hit 35 points.

Read Also

Uganda Internation Asuman Mugerwa came off the bench and scored after several pick and drives in Nondies area. Minutes later Timoci Senaite put Felix Ayange through for the second unconverted try.  Charlton Mokua was sin-binned after tackling an opponent who didn’t have a ball but Kabras matched on.

Jone Kubu who also came off the bench reacted quickly from a ruck landed Kabras eighth try that saw them complete a double over Nondies having won the first leg ended 40-15.

Kabras squad 1.Roy Mwale 2. Max Adaka 3. Joseph Odero 4. Charlton Mokua 5.Brian Juma 6.William Diffu  7.George Nyambua 8 Lawrence Buyachi 9 Brian Tanga 10. Ntabeni Dukisa  11.Alfred Orege 12.Habil Malika 13 Timoci Senaite 14 Paul Abuto 15 Felix Ayange

Replacements: 16.Eugene Sifuna 17.Ephraim Oduor 18. Asuman Mugerwa 19. B Onyango 20 Hillary Odhiambo 21 Dan Angwech  22 Kevin Keegan   23. Jone Kubu

Most Popular

To Top