For the second consecutive year,New Zealand’s Beauden Barret has been named the World’s best male Rugby player of the year.

Barrett beat teammate Rieko Ioane, Australia’s Israel Folau and England’s Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje to the award which was presented at an award ceremony held in France last night.

Barret becomes the third player after All Blacks Dan Carter and Richie McCaw to win the award more than once: fly half Carter was Player of the Year in 2005, 2012 and 2015 and McCaw won in 2006, 2009 and 2010.

England coach Eddie Jones was named Coach of the Year, New Zealand’s Portia Woodman was Women’s Player of the Year, the New Zealand women’s team which won this year’s Women’s World Cup was Team of the Year and winger Ioane was named Breakthrough Player of the Year.

New Zealand’s Michaela Blyde was named Women’s Sevens Player of the Year and Perry Baker of the United States was Men’s Sevens Player of the Year.

McCaw and England’s Rachael Burford won International Rugby Players’ Association Special Merit Awards.